Between Sturm and Drang

While baroque music has been performed on period instruments for decades in Estonia, the aim of this ensemble is to expand this border. It is the gut strings, light bows and charming fortepiano that make the music of C. P. E. Bach and the Viennese classics sound particularly elegant and, if necessary, piercingly dramatic. “Sturm and drang” was a movement in the second half of the 18th century, which was expressed in music in minor melodies, sudden changes of mood and unpredictable melody. In the concert, they intertwine with the brighter side of Haydn and Mozart in their well-known quality. The piano quintet by Mozart begins like that, but will soon take on brighter tones. The subtitle of the Haydn Quartet is “Joke” – exactly where it lies will be a surprise at the concert. The concert will end with a vigorous C. Ph. E. Bach.

Meelis Orgse (violin)

Mari-Liis Uibo (violin)

Johanna Vahermägi (viola)

Johanna Randvere (cello)

Lembit Orgse (fortepiano)

In cooperation with Lossimuusika and EAMT


21.11.21 at 18.00 in Kadriorg Castle